McDonald’s U/14 Schools League 2017 launched

Jali to captain Bafana,Singh ,Mahlambi and Tau starts
March 28, 2017
Dineo Ranaka takes over from Bonang Matheba on Metro FM
April 6, 2017

McDonald’s U/14 Schools League 2017 launched

McDonald’s U/14 Schools League in partnership with South African Schools Football Association have launched a 8th edition of McDonald’s U/14 Schools League for the calendar year. The launch took place at FNB Stadium on Thursday.

This year’s tournament themed – Small teams,Big dreams will continue developing players at grassroots level through McDonald. The tournament unleashed the like of Toriq Losper who plays for Ajax Cape Town in the Absa Premiership.

The South African Schools Football Association and McDonald’s continues with soccer festivals where provincial teams will travel to selected provinces and play finals.

Speaking at the launch earlier today the President of SASFA Mandla ‘Shoes’ Mazibuko said: We are grateful for our longstanding partnership with McDonald’s and their dedication to develop players at grassroots levels. This years’s edition is will be no different as we will continue producing stars for tomorrow who will be the pride of the nation that will don the national team jersey and make strides in different leagues across the globe.”

Among-st dignitaries who attended the launch was the MEC for Basic Education in Gauteng Panyaza Lesufi said: ” We cannot have youth queuing for social grants,they need to represent us in international playgrounds. He further continued saying that the youth when they talk of opportunities they must speak of opportunities like these ones. He said that the only winner will be talent and opportunity.

Daniel Padiachy who is the Chief Marketing Officer for McDonald’s SA said: ” We are excited to introduce ‘The Small teams,Big dreams’ coaches and we looking forward to uncovering great football skills and talent throughout the league.”

Coaches will be lead by Khabo Zondo and each coaches will be dedicated to a province to run and will train and develop coaches that have a direct contact with U/14 players in schools in all nine provinces.

The Coaches:

Doctor Khumalo – GP and NW
Mark Williams – WC,EC and NC
Phil Masinga – Free State and KZN
Siphiwe Mkhonza – Limpopo and Mpumalanga
Tebogo Mokoena – National Finals

Details of the tournament

– Limpopo host Mpumalanga,05 August
– Gauteng host North West, 12 August
– Free State to host KZN ,26 August
– Eastern Cape hosts Northern Cape and Western Cape,09 September
– The national finals will take place on the 5-7 October 2017